bayeux tapestry
tapissÉrie de bayeux


MUCH more than a stitch in time

According to the legend, the Bayeux tapestry was made by Reine Mathilde, wife of William the Conqueror. In fact, it was probably embroidered by monks in the south of England after the Battle of Hastings on October 14th, 1066.


© ATOUT FRANCE/CDT Calvados


During the summer of 2014, the Bayeux Tapestry had a missing section added to it. Read about the Bayeux Tapestry Missing Link.

Listed as a “Memory of the World” by UNESCO, the Bayeux Tapestry (Calvados) is an embroidery, 70 metres long, made in the 11th century.

Legendary animals, ships, Vikings, Norman and Saxon cavalries illustrate the exploits of William and his opponent Harold, another pretender to the throne of England.


VISITOR INFORMATION

Bayeux Tapestry
Tel: 02 31 51 25 50
www.tapisserie-bayeux.fr.

Open:
Every day except 7-22 Jan, 24-26 Dec, 31 Dec-2 Jan:
Mid Mar-mid Nov, 0900-1745 (1815, May-Aug); mid Nov-mid Mar, 0930-1145, 1400-1715.

Admission:
Adult: €9; Child €4 (under 10, free)

PARKING

The "Parc Michel d'Ornano" is specifically reserved for free parking for vehicles. It is equipped with public conveniences and a shaded picnic area. The car park gives direct access to the museum.

The Bayeux Tapestry is indicated throughout the town, and near the museum itself, with two types of signpost: one for pedestrians and the other for motorists, easily to identify with their different logos.


This website was built using Solo Build It!



SEARCH THIS WEBSITE

Custom Search

TOURIST INFORMATION

Office de Tourisme
Pont Saint-Jean, 14400 Bayeux.
Tel: 02 31 51 28 28
www.bessin-normandie.com