Occitanie is an administrative region of France that was created on 1 January 2016 from former French regions Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées. This is the largest region in France, featuring both the latest technology and numerous traces of prehistoric civilisations.

The modern administrative region is named after the cultural and historical region of Occitania, which covers a similar area to that ruled by the Counts of Toulouse in the 12th and 13th centuries.

The region comprises 13 departments: Ariège, Aude, Aveyron, Gard, Haute-Garonne, Gers, Hérault, Lot, Lozère, Hautes-Pyrénées, Pyrénées-Orientales, Tarn and Tarn-et-Garonne.

The principal cities in the new region are Toulouse, Montpellier, Nîmes, Perpignan, Béziers, Montauban and Albi.

Occitanie region is filled with countless natural, architectural, traditional and gastronomic wonders. Exceptional is the by-word here: don’t miss the Cirque de Gavarnie, the Millau viaduct, Conques, Rocamadour, Montségur, the Canal du Midi, and the region’s capital city, Toulouse.

Here you will find an impressive architectural and cultural heritage, such as the town of Albi and its Toulouse-Lautrec Museum; Auch with its picturesque streets; Carcassonne and its imposing fortifications; Cordes-sur-Ciel and its Gothic houses; Foix and its medieval castle; Millau and its famous viaduct; Montauban and its Place Nationale; Narbonne and its Archbishops' Palace; Nîmes and its Roman ruins; Perpignan and its palace of the Kings of Majorca; Rodez and its Gothic cathedral, and Toulouse and its Renaissance mansions.

France's second-biggest region 

·         13 'departments' in an area bigger than Ireland
·         8 sites inscribed on UNESCO's World Heritage list: the      Canal du Midi, Gavarnie - Mont Perdu, the Routes of Santiago de Compostela, the Episcopal City of Albi, the Causses and the Cévennes, the Pont du Gard, the Historic Fortified City of Carcassonne, the Fortifications of Vauban (Villefranche-de-Conflent and Mont-Louis)
·         2 National Parks (Pyrénées and Cévennes)
·         1 National Marine Park (Gulf of Lion)
·         6 Regional Nature Parks
·         30 thermal spa centres
·         44 winter sports resorts in the Pyrénées and the Massif Central
·         220 kilometres of Mediterranean coastline
·         37 marinas


Custom Search


Comité Régionale du Tourisme
15 rue Rivals
31685 Toulouse